There are lots of Texas License to Carry instructors and classes around, what makes your classes unique?
Quality of instruction and instructors. I am Bruce Weaver, the Range Master. I am an experienced instructor and I have taught over 1450 Texas Police Officers the Basic Instructors Course or classes in the police academies throughout the State of Texas.
Our instructors do not normally teach any classes, police or civilian, with more than twenty students. We believe in the hands-on and personal training as often as possible. Our instructors cover all the DPS material thoroughly and do not sell anything. We do not use profanity or preach political propaganda in our classes. We teach students to value life, support and comply with law enforcement and carry courteously and safely. We use high-quality PowerPoint presentations, videos and hands on exercises. We work patiently with students until they qualify, if possible. A LTC class is a better experience in a smaller group and comfortable setting. We focus on the safety of the weapon and the good common-sense factors of the students to make our training successful and enjoyable.
We are registered in the State of Texas and a subsidiary of AlBoys, LLC. We are insured through Lloyds of London with a liability insurance policy for more than $1,000,000. All our instructors have over twenty-years of experience in their field of expertise.
I saw an advertisement for a cheaper LTC class on a coupon website. Why is your price higher?
Cheaper coupon type classes are usually large impersonal classes. We normally only teach smaller classes where we can give quality instruction and personal attention and ensure safety. Our classes are priced as low or lower than most other instructors and their classes. Our classes may also include gun rental fee, ammunition cost, and range fees—all free, depending on the package you select for your training. Other classes usually charge for these items and could exceed an additional $100 dollars for the training depending on ammunition usage and range fees. We work hard to make the classes as enjoyable, informative and stress-free as possible. We will answer your questions and help you before or after the class. Our private class rates are lower than most instructors, if they even have private classes available.
Where do you hold your handgun classes?
We usually hold our classes in a comfortable classroom setting (with refreshments) at Mt. Pisgah Missionary Baptist Church in Richardson, Texas, just a short drive from the Dallas, McKinney, Frisco, Allen, Plano, and Garland areas. We conduct the shooting proficiency test at the shooting range in Dallas at Elm Fork Shooting Sports (outside) or in Richardson at Target Master (inside). We can travel to your location for a private class, if preferred. We will hold private classes in homes, meeting rooms and churches and conduct the shooting proficiency demonstrations at a nearby private land or a shooting range in your general area.
How do I register for a class?
Contact us by leaving a date of interest, your name and phone number. We will email the class preparation and deposit information to you. A $25 non-refundable deposit by mail or online payment is required to finalize a space in the class and to receive your study guide test questions. Your deposit is applied to the total class fee. If a student must cancel because of an emergency, we will apply the student’s deposit to a future class.
How do I apply for a new Texas License to Carry?
Once you have successfully completed our course we will issue you a CHL-100, Certificate of Training, validated by an instructor and signed by you. You may then view the Texas LTC Application Instructions by clicking on the Department of Public Safety website, https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/contact/ltcatt.aspx.
You will need to complete two major tasks: 1) Complete a Texas LTC 78A, Handgun Licensing to Carry Application, form to submit to the Texas Department of Public Safety. The Certificate of Training, CHL-100, is valid for up to 2 years if you want to spread out the cost of obtaining the license over a few months and prefer not to get a License to Carry immediately. Complete the license application process through Texas DPS and pay the license fee. The fee is usually $40, however, there are discounts for veterans, active military personnel, and other special conditions. You can view the DPS license fee schedule. DPS prefers you to use their online application process, but you can still submit a paper application. 2)As a part of the online application process, you will also pay for and schedule electronic fingerprinting ($10). You can start the process or learn more by going to the DPS website, https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/contact/ltcatt.aspx.
It usually takes 15-30 days to receive your license once you have completed the application process through DPS and submitted all the required forms, including a copy of your ‘Certificate of Training’, CHL-100, issued by 1st Safety Training.
What should I expect at a LTC class?
The Texas LTC class is at least 4 hours of classroom instruction plus the time it takes for breaks and to shoot the proficiency test at the range. Our classes are approximately 6 hours total. The classroom instruction will cover the DPS required subjects using PowerPoint presentations, videos and hands-on exercises. There is a standard 25 question written test at the end of the class. The questions are multiple choice and true/false. If you apply yourself in class, and listen to the speaker, you should have little or no problem on the written test. We have several different quiz questions for you to review.
What do I need to bring to a LTC class?
You will need a good black pen and paper for notes for the classroom portion. You can use your own handgun (if it is safe mechanically) or rent one from 1st Safety Training for $5 for the shooting proficiency test. Students can share a handgun, if necessary. You will need an UNLOADED handgun, one UNLOADED magazineand 50-100 rounds of factory new range ammunition. You may also purchase factory new range ammunition from 1st Safety Training for $20 @ box (50 rounds to a box). Contact us for detailed preparation information.
What kind of handgun and ammunition do I need to bring?
The handgun can be a semi-auto pistol or revolver of any caliber – it no longer matters. It must be in SAFE and RELIABLE working condition. You will need 50-100 rounds of ammunition for the shooting test. NO RELOADED or cheap foreign ammo can be used for safety and reliability reasons. Contact us for detailed preparation information.
How much experience with shooting handguns do I need to have before I take a LTC class?
Students new to shooting handguns are welcome. The Texas LTC class is not intended or designed for people who have never or rarely shot a handgun, but inexperienced students may pass the shooting proficiency test without major problems. A student needs to be familiar with his or her handgun and know how to load a magazine and load, operate, shoot and unload the handgun safely before the class. If a person is completely new to shooting handguns, we suggest he or she enroll in our ‘Introductory Handgun’ class and gain some experience at a shooting range before taking the LTC class. If a student does not pass the range qualification test the first time, we will have him or her shoot it again if time allows or schedule another trip to the range later. We patiently work with students until they qualify, if possible. We offer an Introduction to Handguns class and shooting lessons for newer shooters needing instruction and practice.
What is the LTC Shooting Proficiency Test?
The shooting proficiency test requires students to shoot 50 rounds of ammunition at a “B-27” human silhouette target. Students shoot 20 rounds from 3 yards, 20 rounds from 7 yards and 10 rounds from 15 yards in specific steps with time to rest in between. For maximum points, students need to shoot most of the 50 rounds into the center 13″w X 18″h area of the B-27 target. Contact us for the official outline of the shooting proficiency test. A student must score 175 out of 250 possible points to qualify (70%). The test is usually conducted at the outdoor firing range, however, depending on weather conditions we may shoot indoors at Target Master in Richardson. We work hard to make the shooting test as safe, stress-free and enjoyable as possible. We normally have one ‘Range Safety Officer’ for every three shooters.
A LTC student needs to be familiar with his or her handgun and know how to load a magazine and load, operate, shoot and unload the handgun safely before the class.
When can I apply to Texas DPS for a License to Carry?
You can start the license application process with DPS before or after the class. It will speed up the process if you start working on the application before the class, but it is up to you. The CHL-100 Certificate of Training is valid for 2 years if someone wants to take the LTC class now and apply for the license a little later to spread out the cost. To learn more or start the license application process, go to the DPS website, https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/contact/ltcatt.aspx.
What are the requirements for obtaining a License to Carry in Texas?
The best source of information on requirements and everything related to license to carry handgun licenses is found on the Texas DPS LTC website. The Texas “Concealed Handgun License” or “CHL” is now called a “License to Carry” or “LTC” with the legalization of licensed open carry in Texas effective January 1, 2016.
I lost my CHL-100 Certificate of Training. Can I get a replacement?
Yes. Email us with the date or month and year of your class and we will confirm your class completion and produce a replacement certificate. We can meet up with you or mail it to you. You will need to sign it and text or email a copy of the completed certificate to 1st Safety for our records. There is a $10 fee for replacement certificates.
For more information about classes, scheduling and pricing or to register for a class, click below.
Gift Certificates are available for most public and private classes.